What I saw at Digicon6

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


We had a wonderful time in Tokyo! Meeting the director of Usavich and Transformers Prime. Unfortunately we didn’t any additional awards , but the experience itself was already very precious.

I was particularly impressed by the delegates from the other Asian countries. It seems everyone has a very different industry, performing different functions. From the Philippines , the film was partially commercial, in collaboration with an insurance company.
From Malaysia, the winner is Origanimals an original IP developed in Giggle Garage. I was particularly striked by the fun atmosphere the malaysians have within themselves. MDec, (malaysia’s equlivant of MDA) brought in almost everyone in the Malaysia’s top 5 just to give them further exposure. Furthermore, I realized the Malaysians have been helping really small companies come up with very good work including this company called Glue Studios (you should check it out). Good for you Malaysia!

As for China, Taiwan and Singapore, I think we are largely the same. We did not commercialize and all our works are mostly student works or Indie . Korea is ,as usual, genius in the making, just 2 years and then, an awesome masterpiece. I really don’t know how they do it, but despite the hectic working schedule they have, the Korean winner still had time to do an epic piece called “Burp” to clinched Silver.

As for the Japanese, I don’t know how to describe , but it seems , despite being really professional, they still have fun in their blood when it comes to animation. They don’t show it when you communicate with them (however brief my contact with them)  but their fun is like, Outrageous! I think they have a very high tolerance to how outrageous your animation can get. Just look at Kanaban Graphics. Besides Usavich, their own service work is insanely funny and creative till the point you go on and think …. “WTF?!?!?!?!?! ”

Anyway the Gold and Bronze awards were from Japan. I particularly love the Bronze award. Totally creative and fun this piece called “Kuroko” I don’t even know how to start explaining this piece. Imagine all the machines that use electricity are operated by men in white bunny suits. That’s probably the only way I can explain it.

The winning piece is done by students only 21 years of age, describing a police and thief chase scene but the twist is that it is seen from the point of a 9-monitor CCTV control panel , i think that’s how to call it. Its called “Display – tag” . And the characters seemingly run around the space within the screens as if they are cells on a comic book.

We talked to alot of creators, sharing their views and struggles. I think this trip really inspired me a lot. I hope with these knowledge, I can one day start companies just like them, with unique IPs that are fun, creative and well remembered.

Leave a comment